

Parliamentary Assembly Assemblée parlementaire

http://assembly.coe.int



Doc. 13104 22 January 2013

## The implementation of Resolution 1625 (2008) on the Turkish islands Gökçeada (Imbros) and Bozcaada (Tenedos)

Motion for a resolution tabled by Ms Theodora BAKOYANNIS and other members of the Assembly

This motion has not been discussed in the Assembly and commits only those who have signed it

The Parliamentary Assembly notes that in spite of the adoption of Resolution 1625 (2008) "Gökçeada (Imbros) and Bozcaada (Tenedos): preserving the bicultural character of the two Turkish islands as a model for cooperation between Turkey and Greece in the interest of the people concerned" also with votes of members of the Turkish Delegation itself, the situation of the Greek minority of the two islands has regrettably not improved.

The Assembly recalls that under Resolution 1704 (2010) "Freedom of religion and other human rights for non-Muslim minorities in Turkey and for the Muslim minority in Thrace (Eastern Greece)", Turkey was urged again to implement Resolution 1625 (2008).

It further notes that the deteriorated condition of the Greek minority of the islands and the failure of Turkey to comply with Resolution 1625 (2008) have been highlighted again by Mr Andreas Gross (the Rapporteur of the report) in his other report on the situation of the Greek citizens of Turkish descent in Rhodes and Kos" (Doc.12526, 23 February 2011 and Resolution 1867 (2012)).

The Assembly recalls that Article 14 of the Treaty of Lausanne guaranteeing *inter alia* local administration and the protection of persons and property has never been implemented. Besides, the Greek minority has been denied since 1964 to be taught in its own language and to reopen its schools.

The Assembly urges the Turkish Government to proceed to the implementation of Resolution 1625 (2008) without further delay, restituting the properties of the Greek minority and addressing the needs of the people on the two islands.

Signed (see overleaf)

Signed<sup>1</sup>:

BAKOYANNIS Theodora, Greece, EPP/CD BACKMAN Þuriður, Iceland, UEL DOBBIN Jim, United Kingdom, SOC FARINA Renato, Italy, EPP/CD GARDETTO Jean-Charles, Monaco, EPP/CD GIANNAKAKI Maria, Greece, NR HUNKO Andrej, Germany, UEL KOX Tiny, Netherlands, UEL KYRIAKIDES Stella, Cyprus, EPP/CD MEALE Alan, United Kingdom, SOC MICHEL Jean-Pierre, France, SOC NICOLAIDES Nicos, Cyprus, SOC PAPADIMOULIS Dimitrios, Greece, UEL PIPILI Foteini, Greece, EPP/CD PRESCOTT John, United Kingdom, SOC PUCHE Gabino, Spain, EPP/CD SANTINI Giacomo, Italy, EPP/CD SHERIDAN Jim, United Kingdom, SOC TOSHEV Latchezar, Bulgaria, EPP/CD TRIANTAFYLLOS Konstantinos, Greece, SOC

EPP/CD: Group of the European People's Party SOC: Socialist Group ALDE: Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe EDG: European Democrat Group UEL: Group of the Unified European Left NR: Representatives not belonging to a Political Group